RoguesGallery/made_in_usa_3_82605.jpg

"I'm convinced the actual mount
has contributed to my sound the most.
It's more open, there's more air
with a blacker background, and dynamics
and 'pace' are outstanding."
- Ken Perkins


 

Here's what our Reviews say...

RoguesGallery/Pete.Riggle.String.Theory.jpg
Writer's Choice Award from Positive Feedback Online for Woody Tonearm using VTAF
RoguesGallery/Jeff.Award.jpg
Jeff Award from reviewer Jeff Day for Woody SPU tonearm using VTAF

 

The Absolute Sound, Issue No.153 April/May 2005, Stephaen Harrell, Page 16

"Vertical Tracking Angle on the Fly" 
Here’s an indispensable bargain for users of the ubiquitous Rega arms. The VTAF™, from Pete Riggle Audio, allows VTA adjustment on the fly (yes, while the record is playing). Does it work? Absolutely. Better still, PRA sells this precision-machined bronze, steel, and lacquered brass product for $104[*] plus actual shipping. Why the VTAF? As you may know, other adjusters require loosening and retightening of a nut under the arm board for each adjustment. Getting under the turntable, making the adjustment, and re-leveling the table becomes tedious and rapidly gets one out of the fine-tuning mood. This one makes it easy. It’s no surprise that I experienced improved soundstage, detail, nuance and air; VTA adjustment is often necessary to get the most out of your cartridge. But the general improvement provided by the VTAF mounting system itself was a revelation: Only gravity holds the arm pedestal down. Riggle latched on to this scheme when his Origin Live Rega 250 instructions cautioned against snugging arm post nuts too tightly. He found loosening the nut improved the sound, and he was right, but this then allowed the pedestal to spin around the mounting post during arm handling. His straightforward guide system now prevents this. With the arm pedestal held by gravity to the bushing that guides the arm post up and down, one can now lift the arm and cables out of the turntable without getting under the arm board. Since it takes just 10 seconds to remove or return the arm, accommodating cartridge changes, multiple turntables, or multiple Regas with different cartridges is now uncomplicated. With little room left, I’ll just say that I’m having one made for my Nottingham rig, and refer you to PRA’s ongoing sales at www.audiogon.com. Once there, a quick search for VTAF will reward you with many details and illustrations."


* Apology from Pete Riggle Audio: Ten year later the price is $180.

6 Moons Garrard 301 Project, Part 1 . . . and Part 2, Jeff Day, Reviewer


Weve been fortunate to help Jeff Day at 6moons.com with his Garrard 301 project - and to have garnered some praise as well...

"Pete installed VTAF bushings on both turntables to allow us to swap tone arms in less time than it took me to write this paragraph! Once the VTAF bushing is installed, an arm can be removed and restored in moments without breaking or making mechanical connections; and without getting underneath the turntable plinth.  While Pete's original purpose in designing the VTAF was an easy way to adjust vertical tracking angle on the fly, it turns out that it also sounds better than the standard ways of mounting a Rega or Origin Live arm. The VTAF gives markedly improved nuance, inner detail, air and soundstaging over the original rigid mounting system."

 

10Audio.com, Jerry Seigel, Editior, July 2006
Review of the Origin Live Conqueror with the Riggle Audio VTAF


Jerry discusses the aural advantages he hears, of the Origin Live Conqueror tonearm over the Graham Phantom tonearm and then goes on to say:


"Enter the VTAF, Pete Riggle's aftermarket ‘VTA adjustment on the Fly' accessory that allows you to adjust VTA without the genuine pain in the ass process that is required with the stock Origin Live arm. (I use the term "stock", but please note that the VTAF does not modify the arm in any way, and so the warranty is unaffected.)

With the stock arm, you loosen the big nut on the bottom of the arm post under the arm board, turn the included adjuster, and retighten the nut. Depending on your table, you may then have to reinstall the armboard, all the while being insanely careful not to damage the stylus. Repeat until satisfied.

With VTAF, just 1) turn the beautifully finished wheel, and 2) sit down. If all the VTAF did was to make adjusting VTA a very quick and simple and safe matter, it would easily be worth the cost. But that is not quite all it does.

[Regarding] the Origin Live Conqueror arm with Pete Riggle's excellent (and in my opinion, necessary) VTAF . . .the dynamic range of this combination is scary . . . this is the most immediate and obvious change that the VTAF brings to the (turn) table. Less striking but no less important are improvements in high frequency purity and extension, and a deeper sound stage. The midrange may have gained some richness, but that impression may be an effect of better low level resolution in the upper frequencies. No negative effects from adding the VTAF have been observed.


Before the Conqueror [with the VTAF] arrived, I would listen for two or three hours and then want to take a break. Now, I actively dislike turning off the music. Listening fatigue is at a level below the amount time I have to listen. If there is anything that indicates enjoyment better than not wanting it to end, I can't imagine what it would be or how good it could possibly sound. Having definitively surpassed what many consider to be the best tonearm in the world [the Graham Phantom], I expect the Conqueror to be in permanent residence in my reference system."


Overall Rating: 10 LPs

Reader Please Note: There have been many posts on the VTAF over at the Vinyl Asylum.

http://www.audioasylum.com/cgi/etv.mpl?forum=vinyl

"I've saved the best for last . . .
you gave me my vinyl "Kind of Blue" back!
Previously unlistenable.
That alone was worth the price of this kit."
- Brian Sloan, NZ

 

 

VTAF Testimonials, Here's what our Customers are saying...

 

Dave Kell, Fidelity Research FR-24 tonearm on the Russco Studio Pro Model B

Hello Pete: Just a quick note to let you know that I got the VTAF installed on the Fidelity Research FR-24 tonearm on the Russco Studio Pro Model B. The tube you shipped to bush the adjuster screw fit really nicely over the tonearm shaft. The Russco is not a quiet deck and mine rumbled quite badly before the VTAF was installed. With the VTAF installed the previously intolerable rumble and mechanical feedback from the tired motor bearings has totally gone. Bass response and definition has improved immeasurably. I am astounded at how much difference this makes. You can expect orders for more of these ;)

Best Regards, Dave 

 

 

 

Joe Eagleeye, Techniques 1200 Series Table, with Pete Riggle Armboard, VTAF, and Origin Live Silver Mk. 3a Arm: "I'm still fooling around with it and I'm sure that things aren't completely dialed in yet, but man my vinyl rig has never sounded so good. I was a bit skeptical about the arm sorta floating in the VTAF, but you're right, you quickly adjust to it. I'll give you more detailed impressions later. The weird thing is that I don't think everything is just due to properly dialing in the VTA. Strangely, I think how the arm attaches to your VTAF with more degrees of mechanical freedom somehow improves the sound." Thanks, Joe

 

Joe Giacalone, RB300 Tonearm on highly Modified Rega RP3 Table: I would have written sooner but my free time is now consumed with listening to vinyl. Although I expected some improvement with the VTAF and CCM modifications neither I, nor my wife, expected the magnitude of sound upgrade the two mods brought. I always thought the phrase "jaw-dropping" was simply a metaphor but that is what happens with every record I play; literally. I simply cannot recommend your products highly enough now that I finally understand through first-hand experience why vinyl is vastly superior to even a very high end CD player. Also, with your diagnostic suggestions I discovered why I was getting only a signal from the left and not right channel. It turned out to be a blown tube in the phono section of my McIntosh C2220 preamp. Thanks for your help because as good as I told you the mods were that was with my hearing them through a weak phono tube. With both phono channels on good tubes now the music is simply amazing with precise imaging, a very deep soundstage and more powerful and tighter bass and a richness that I've missed in the 45 years I've been in this hobby.

 

 

 

John Austin, Ottawa, Canada, Rega RB300 arm on modified Rega P25 turntable: Hi Pete, The VTAF is causing me to lose sleep. It arrived in the mail yesterday, and I installed it after dinner. I ended up staying up past midnight listening to records! I even played a record this morning before leaving for work - so it's making me late for work too. Seriously, I listened to Blue Rondo a la Turk off Dave Brubeck's Time Out. I've never heard the cymbals sound so lifelike. It's easy to tell when they are being hit on the edge, or toward the middle of the cymbal. I even hears some brush work on the snare that I have never heard on that recording - and I have that recording in both vinyl and CD. The acoustic bass has a more "woody" sound to it. I'm tempted to take a vacation day so I can stay home to listen. I must admit that I had some second thoughts while I was sanding the tonearm mounting hole on my Rega P25 to make it larger, and while I was screwing the tonearm vertical guide into the plinth, but the results I heard after just a few records tell me it was well worth it. I haven't even really experimented with VTA adjustment, or installed the spacers under the back of the cartridge. I think a lot of the improvement must result from decoupling the tonearm from the plinth. Thanks for your invention! John

 

Don Troise, Key West, FL, VTAF for Acos Lustre tonearm on Thorens TD124 Turntable: Hi Pete I want to thank you for taking the time to answer my questions about the Woody tonearm. I came away with confidence that, just like the VTAF, every issue is thoroughly engineered (no stone left to lay). After using the VTAF for a week, all I can say is that this device is the best thing to come along since the pop-top can. Best Regards, Don

 

 

 

Jeffrey Lyons, Aukland, NZ, Origin Live Illustrious Mk.III tonearm, Nottingham Analog Hyperspace turntable, Shelter 901 cartridge: Hi Pete: I have lived with your VTAF for about a year now. I waited to send this testimonial as I did not want to write in haste and then become disillusioned with the product. The VTAF is installed on a Nottingham Analogue Hyperspace Deck with the Origin Live Illustrious Mk III tonearm and Shelter 901 cartridge. Of all the tweaks I have used in over 30 years of seeking audio nirvana, your VTAF is, by far, the single-most effective tweak I have encountered in the quest for sound perfection.  Here are some of the positive effects I have experienced: increased soundstage depth and width; increased dynamics; better separation of vocals and instruments; more musicality. These differences are not subtle, they are immediately and profoundly noticeable and still, one year later, leave me gobsmacked in my listening chair, wanting to play record, after record, after record. Thank you, Pete Riggle for such a wonderful piece of equipment. Kindest regards, Jeff Lyons

 

 

Keith Locke, Rega RB300 with Grado Statement Cartridge: After hearing so many good things about Pete and his VTAF I decided to order one. Pete Riggle was quick to answer my questions and my VTAF arrived in the mail quickly. The instructions included were easy to follow and I was up and running in no time. I remember having my arm rewired and adding a clearaudio counterweight years ago and the signifigant improvements those changes made. Adding a VTAF to a Rega arm is as big of an improvement as the upgrades I have mentioned yet again!! Everything Pete says about the VTAF is true and man my vinyl rig has never sounded so good. The VTAF improves music in every which way we audiophiles like to talk about. In a hobby full of gimmicks the VTAF isn't one them and every vinyl enthusiast should have one in my opinion. Two thumbs up for you Pete; thank you for a marvelous invention!


Richard Vince, VTAF and CCM on Rega RB250 arm and VPI MkIV table:
Hi Pete: This is just a compliment to your mod kits. I installed the VTAF Teflon and Counterweight kits on my RB250/VPI MkIV. I use a Shelter V cartridge. The improvement is really amazing. More clarity and detail and the bass is both deeper and more focused. The Teflon kit really allows me to make small VTAF corrections while a record is playing. It has really made the adjusting effortless.Thanks, Richard
 

Roy Insco, Las Vegas, NV, SME III arm with VTAF: Pete, My SME III with your VTAF on a belt drive table sounds better than another SME III arm I have mounted on a better sounding table. Thanks, Roy Insco


Jeff Lyons, Aukland, NZ; Origin Live Illustrious Mk. III on an old style Nottingham Hyperspace table: Hi Pete, Thanks so much for your helpful suggestions.  However, yesterday, I did take the arm board to a machine shop. The job was successfully completed for about 16.00 USD.  The VTAF is now set up on the turntable…. now for just a few final adjustments and enjoying some music. I can already say, without any fine tuning, that the VTAF has had an amazing effect on the sound. Thanks again, Pete for your thorough information, help, and such a fine product. All the best, Jeff


David Buckwalter, VTAF for Rega RB250:
Pete, I would like to say how happy I am with the VTAF. It has been priceless in its ability to change my tonearm amongst several tables quickly.

 

Gilles Poirson,  Paris, France, Lenco L75, Rega Rb251, Mark Levinson MLC 1 cartridge, Van den Hull Retip: Pete, I own a Lenco L75 with a big heavy plinth of 60 pounds. Tonearm is a Rega RB251 with all the modifications by Origin Live (chrome finish). With the VTAF I immediately noticed more air and far better voices on operatic material. Microdynamics were improved as well. It is a pleasure listening to vinyl. CD is now far behind vinyl. Thanks a lot. Best Regrds, Gilles

Eric Huys, Rega RB250 on Lenco Table, Wychen, Netherlands: Hi Pete, The VTAF is one of a kind!! I'm very plaeased. It is a major performance upgrade for my Lenco 75. Is the second generation VTAF/Technics Armboard for Technics 1200 Series available, and what does it cost? Hope to hear from you soon. Kind Regards, Erik

Below is a testimonial from Bjarne Sorenson, in Kolding Denmark, dated November 9, 2012: Bjarne bought his VTAF in December 2004, about 8 years ago. In December 2005, Bjarne bought a separate VTAF Adjuster Screw, Adjuster Wheel and Capture nut, allowing him to easily alternate a second RB300 with his first RB300. Now, in November 2012, Bjarne is buying a separate VTAF Bronze Bushing and VTAF Guide assembly to allow him to mount the second RB300 on a separate Garrard 301 table. This is the kind of common sense approach to audio improvement that we here at Pete Riggle Audio really admire. Folks often spend vast sums of money, and blow right past some of the best possible audio performance.  In our opinion, digital has it for playback portablility and convenience;  but, in the comfort of your home, you'll find the deep enjoyment in vinyl, often at much lower cost, using products like the VTAF, which offer remarkable performance.  The readable liner notes and album cover art provided with vinyl also add to the enormous enjoyment associated with vinyl playback.

Bjarne Sorenson, Kolding Denmark: Hi Pete: After 8 years, the VTAF is still the best investment I have ever made for the Rega RB300 arm. With the VTAF, the RB300 outperforms about any other arm I have ever heard, including expensive tonearms. My friends envy my setup for the sound it produces. I told them," buy an Rega RB 300 and the VTAF upgrade, and you are in the sun."


Lee R. Moore, OL Silver tonearm with VTAF and VTAF Mounting Plate on Technics 1200 Series Table:
What’s the sound of the VTAF? In a word …… amazing!
The VTAF has to be improving the coupling of tonearm to plinth. This is important, to be sure, but just one of many things going on with phono playback. So I’m stunned that it could make such a difference. There was more definition up and down the audio spectrum. The bass had more slam and more tunefulness. The highs sparkled without edginess, and the midrange was beautiful and engaging. There was a bigger and deeper soundstage, with better instrument placement within it. Noisy records still sounded noisy, as the microcline stylus of the OM 40 will report every bit of dirt and groove wear. But the surface noise was less bothersome, and seemed better isolated from the signal.


Brian Havve, Skien Norway, Rega RB300 on Nottingham Interspace table: Dear Pete:  The VTAF is well received. Thank you for very good service. It was no problem mounting it. Biggest improvement I have recognized to now is no more resonance from the plinth to the arm.  Im still working on adjusting the best VTA but that Is so easy with the VTAF.

Doug Roach, Rega P3:
Hi Pete. OK, first of all, I installed the VTAF on my P3. Now all I have to say is HOLY SHIT!  I  wonder... is it because the arm is now decoupled from the plinth? Or the use of brass ? What a great product in ANY CASE!  Best regards, Doug.

Reply to Doug from Pete Riggle:

Thank you for the kind words.  I don't know exactly how the VTAF does its magic, but it most certainly does it.  Certainly isolation interrupts vibrations which would otherwise enter the armboard and return later to blur the signal.  I don't know whether stainless steel would work as well as brass.  I did the prototype in brass for multiple reasons, not the least of which is the great reputation brass has for sonic success.  When I dropped the stylus in the groove with the prototype (before adjusting VTA) I knew that I was obliged to offer this as a product.  Kind Regards, Pete



Ed Vialdevall, VPI HW-19 MkIII turntable with stock platter, Rega RB300 arm:

Initial returns indicated a huge win especially for the relative (in this world) pittance invested. Huge win on bass, lower mids and "air". Ok, I've lived with the VTAF for a few weeks now, and have to say I love it ! I have records ranging from paper-thin 80's era "budget reissues" to beefy 180gm Mobile Fidelity, Rhino, etc. This is the first time I have been able to get the most out of them - my previous VTA adjuster was a "set and forget" and I was never able to dial it in precisely for even a compromise position because making an adjustment involved lifting the armboards, unscrewing a big underside nut, turn the adjuster, and put it all back together. Not a solution at all. So basically I have never really heard how good my records sound until now. I knew VTA was "important" but never how important. As far as listening impressions, I hear much more detail and harmonic structure in acoustic strings, punchiness in kick drums and electric bass, focus, air and smoothness in vocals, more soundstage depth, and independence of voices. The last is a little hard to explain, and is one of the things I use to judge quality by - but I know when I hear it. What I mean is that each instrument in an ensemble has a complex rhythmic or melodic life of it's own - something as acoustically complex as a backing acoustic guitar, or as "simple" as a block on beat, they both exist independently, and when you can experience the musical richness of these secondary voices, as well as that of the primariy voices, that is when the MUSIC as opposed to "good sound" begins to emerge. I could go on, in orchestral setting the different sections appear better-placed and scaled in "size", female vocals are smoother and fuller, etc.  Thanks a lot and excellent job! Ed


Augustine Rodriguez, Moerch Tonearm:
Hi Pete: The results [of the VTAF with the Moerch Tonearm] were far better than I had anticipated. Sound stage, clarity of music lines, and timbre improved. Also, not having to deal with the tiny set screw anymore is a blessing. I took a photo of the completed assembly and am including it below. As you can see, the brass looks like it is part of the Moerch arm. Very classy.


Gerry Maroulis, OL Conqueror, SOTA Cosmos,
I confess that the reason I bought the VTAF was strictly for the convenience it offfers. I did not expect any differences in the sound of my set up and was surrpised to see so many testimonies to the opposite. Was I wrong! Right from the start I could hear a more relaxed background with an even lower background noise. My Denon DL-S1 cartridge is a champ when it comes to low background noise but it now sounds even quieter. I guess decoupling the tonearm from the board must be the reason for this. The music sounds, again, relaxed! What I am mean with this is that any sense of "forcing" the music out of the grooves is gone. The word "effortless" comes to mind.  I love my music with a strong bass base. The VTAF seems to have done nothing to reduce the quanity of the bass I had before but it did make it more articulate, more real. I am not a Stereophile reviewer and I lack the words to describe what I am hearing, but something happened to my system and it has become addictive. Listening to Patricia Barber's Modern Cool at a moderately high volume the bass is deep and "heart filling" while her voice sounds more ethereal than ever. Highs are sweet and extended to a point that it almost feels like my ears have gone back to their early glory, 30 years ago. I can hear more music now. It is amazing that some times in life you can have your cake and eat too. I bought the VTAF for the convenince it offers but I also got more musical pleasure with it.  Thanks and Regards, Gerry Maroulis


David Beltran, Origin Live Silver Arm on Technics 1200 Table with VTAF and VTAF Armboard for Technics 1200 Table:

Hi Pete! Everything installed and running smoothly.  First listening sessions and I can only say thank you.  Crystal clear sound reproduction.  Attached are pictures, as promised.  Thanks a lot.  David from Madrid.



Gianni Cimbalo, Italy, Rega RB250, Garrard 401:
 :-))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))
Grazie,
Gianni


Hakan Bogren, Moerch Tone Arm
Hello Pete:  I mounted the VTAF today; on my Moerch tonearm, and started listening right away.  So far the system sounds great with the VTAF installed, and I find it easy to dial in the correct sound.  Cheers, Hakan


Peter Grasic, Clearaudio Ambient Table, Origin Live Silver Mk III
Hi Pete,  Your VTAF has improved the performance my - Clearaudio Ambient, O/L Silver3, Benz Micro L2 Wood, beyond my expectation.  I doubt I would have realised the potential of my deck without the VTAF in place, it is the best $200- (Australian) I have spent in over 35yrs in the hobby.  Cheers, Peter   


Stewart Ow, Audioquest arm on modified VPI table
Pete, Thanks for a great product and wonderful service!  The VTAF made a wonderful difference in my VPI/Audioquest table.  The adjustment on the fly allows me to fine tune my LP collection in seconds, and lets me hear so much more than I've heard in the past.  I also want to thank you for the custom spacer!  It was a very nice surprise and fits perfectly with my table.  The spacer balances out the space between the arm height and plinth.  Thanks again for a product that works and has a beautiful fit and finish.


Bill Gross, Rega Tonearm:
I want to thank you for the information and the spare insert. Changing back to my older Rega made a big difference.  I must say that my dealing with you has been as good an experience as I have ever had on the internet.  From your products to your service you have exceeded all expectations.  Sincerely, Bill Gross


Helmuth Wikke, VTAF on Origin Live Encounter Mark III:

I certainly felt the installation of the VTAF was worthwhile. First of all there was no problem setting it up. The way you can adjust while playing feels right. About the sound, I at once could hear a more correct sound picture, better image and details. I recommend the VTAF. The VTAF is far more valuable than the one delivered on the Encounter Mk.III by Origin Live. Best regards, Helmuth


Meinolf Stute, Dortmund Germany, Scheu Cello table with Rega tonearm:
Hello Pete, A short feedback from Germany!! Many thanks for fast shipping of the VTAF. The Scheu Cello turntable I use is a completely acrylic including the adjustable tonearm mounting base. Your installation instructions are perfect. I had no problem mounting the VTAF. I used a machine screw and nut to replace the wood screw you provided for mounting the vertical guide. The visual result is perfect, but even better the acoustic result!! I was a little bit skeptical until I started playing my favorite LP's. Then I thought "is this a new player?" Congratulations. The result is much better than I expected. I don't understand why your system is not better known in Germany. I would say this is an insider tip! Greetings from Germany, Meinolf


Steven Monroe, Standard VTAF for Rega post mounted arm:
The VTAF I got from you is a marvel.Sound is dramatically improved all around, and changing/adjusting cartridges is a breeze. On top of all these benefits, this is a marvelously designed, engineered, and manufactured piece,the kind of thing one likes to just gaze at. That it sounds so great while you are looking is a real double-dip.  Thanks again, Steve


Bill Heyboer, Michell Technoarm on Sota Vacuum turntable:

Hello, Just a note to say the VTAF system works wonderfully on a SOTA vacuum turntable with a Michell Technoarm (Modified Rega). I had been using an Eminent Technology air bearing arm and decided to simplify. The Benz Ace MC never sounded better. The setup and instructions were easy to accomplish and you are to be applauded for your design. Thanks.


Torstein Natland, Norway, Nottingham Spacearm on Spacedeck:   

Hi Pete. The VTAF works fine. I am very pleased with it. The VTAF makes it sooo easy to adjust the VTA. I have found just the right VTA angel for my Van Den Hul "the frog," and now its really playing music. Worth every penny !!!!! Thanks again. Have left you good feedback on ebay. Best Regards, Torstein


David McIntosh, Rega P3, Shelter 501 Cartridge:
  
Hi Pete, Right now I'm pretty much in Audio Heaven (say Hallelujah!) Beautiful new preamp, beautiful new Rega with a new acrylic platter and "special" mat, beautiful new cartridge, beautiful new crossovers in the old Klipsch, and of course the beautiful new VTAF. My LP collection runs the gamut from the thinnest RCA's from the '80's to some of the most recent 200g audiophile pressings. The new Shelter 501 installed with minimal adjustment necessary and sounds nothing short of amazing. But being able to fine tune the VTA without stopping and shimming the arm is even more amazing. I really can easily find the sweet spot for not only every record but every song! This is important to me because of the amount of archival recording I plan to do. Even though my system's much improved sound quality is due to the combination of changes I've made, I can single out the VTAF as a major plus and I'm glad I made the investment.


Mark Allen, Wilson Benesch Act 2 arm on Michell Orbe table: 
Hi Pete, Everything arrived yesterday as planned and I completed fitting last night. The setup looks great (see attached pictures), and the sound is extraordinary! I can't tell how much of it is due to the VTAF and how much is due to the new Orbe turntable, but the new setup is considerably better than the Wislon Benesch arm without the VTAF, on the the previous table (Wilson Benesch Circle). There is almost non-existent surface noise (the clicks seem to almost disappear), very black background, outstanding detail retrieval, great depth and focus to the soundstage, and that wonderful sense of airiness.


Neil Holmes, Origin Live OL1 arm, Garrard 301 table , Cain and Cain plinth:

I wanted to let you know that all is working well. The setup sounds great. Origin Live OL1 arm, VTAF, Incognito wiring, and a marvelous Miyabi cartridge. Sweet! I also have the table set up so I can play a 12" SME 3012 arm with a Denon 103R cartridge. [Hey Neil: We also have a VTAF available for that SME 3012 . . . Pete]


Michael Levine, Rega arm on Linn LP12:
 
Hi Pete, finally got my thing together and installed the VTAF on my LP12. It turned out great and is sounding excellent. Together with the CCM counterweight (installed earlier, replacing the Kerry f2) the VTAF has made a significant upgrade in the sound of my vinyl. Thanks very much!!


Bill Capolongo, Origin Live Encounter arm on Teres 255 table:
 
The VTAF is fantastic, really a big improvement! Thanks so much for helping out. I installed the VTAF this weekend. It is just great; it exceeds my expectations.


Ron Barbee, Thorens TD125, SME 3009:
 
As the recent recipient of a version of your product which affords vertical tracking angle adjustment for my recently restored 1967 Thorens TD125 turntable with an SME 3009 tone arm, I want to encourage you to continue manufacturing this fine innovation and to recommend the incorporation of the VTAF capability to anyone with similar equipment.

The TD125/SME3009 combination has provided years of excellent service but the one major fault has been the difficult and imprecise adjustment of VTA. The VTAF is the solution and it is light enough to allow the turntable suspension to work correctly.

The advent of new cartridge technology caused me to set aside this turntable and arm combination for a number of years because vertical tracking angle became an important adjustment to attain the best performance from the cartridges I chose to use. The arrangement modified with the VTAF provides precise, repeatable setups and allows me to enjoy my recordings on vinyl without the need to guess.

In addition, to change cartridges or perform inspection or even cleaning I can just lift the assembly out of the base and have easy access to all aspects of the tone arm.
The sound has taken on another set of parameters previously not experienced. The Thorens/SME now challenges my other turntables and requires a serious decision as to where to place it in my three listening areas. It easily competes with my Linn Sondek, Panasonic SP10, and VPI tables with various top notch arms. I use Denon, Dynavector, Myabi, Pickering/Stanton, Grado and Spectral cartridges currently with great satisfaction and am going to branch out to see how other applications work with this system.

My sound systems are very high resolution and have only been enhanced by the ability to precisely and repeatedly attain the vta required for the best sound at the moment .

Thanks for a fine product and a wonderful enhancement to my old new playback system.


Bob Olson, OL Silver:
 
The VTAF with Teflon has made my little OL Silver sound better in most respects than my much more expensive SME-V. You guys done good!


Phil Hyun,
Rega Planar with RB600 arm: 
I just wanted to tell you that I installed the VTAF into my Rega Planar 25 with RB600 arm yesterday (took about 30 minutes and I used a Forstner bit and a little sanding) and had a good listen today. The improvement in sound is really staggering. The P25 sounds totally different. MUCH better. It's just livelier, more realistic, and the music is just way more 3 dimensional. Like it pops out of the air and with much greater clarity and detail. I'm just grinning from ear to ear. I can't wait to show this to all of my audio buddies. I think it's safe to say you can expect some more orders from the Portland area soon. Thanks for a GREAT product at an affordable price!


Tubesforever, Vinyl Asylum:
 
When I added the Pete Riggle VTAF (vertical angle on the fly system) to my table, I was not expecting such a great increase in sound and smiles. With just a turn of an adjustment wheel while listening to the song, I can adjust the VTA and just nail it every time. It is easy to hear the sound just snap into place. Bass, midrange, vocals all improved in every area describable. This Pete Riggle VTAF is the real deal and should be considered strongly by anyone who truly loves vinyl.


Dale Humphrey, 1/27/06, Roksan table, Roksan Tabriz arm:
 
An absolute joy to deal with. Pete is patient, understanding, and will take every necessary step to ensure his product exceeds your expectations. Have a tonearm without adjustable VTA? You must investigate the VTAF!


Kevin Convey, 2/12/06, heavily modded VPI HW19 MK4 and Rega RB300:
 
Count me among those who have drunk the Kool Aid on the efficacy of the VTAF.
You'll remember that I wondered whether the unit had left my heavily modded VPI HW19 MK 4 and Rega RB300 with less bass response than before. Using your instructions, I tested my J.M. Michell VTA adjuster against the VTAF for bass response. Not only was the result no contest in favor of the VTAF with regard to bass response, but also with respect to air, sound stage and just about every other audiophile metric you could think of. Just to test myself, and having read somewhere Origin Live's suggestion that its tonearm not be over-tightened to the armboard, I auditioned my RB300 with the Michell's VTA adjuster nut both tight and loose. Again, the result was no contest: the arm sounded far better with the nut loose. But the VTAF sounded even better than that. To paraphrase the Bible: He that hath ears to hear, let him hear. So consider this a thank-you note. Thanks not only for suggesting a way I might satisfy my own ears about the difference the VTAF makes, but for designing and marketing such an useful, elegant and great-sounding device in the first place.


George McKelvey, Moth Alamo S table, Rega RB250 arm with Michell Technoweight and Incognito wiring:
Uncoupling the tone arm from the plinth has had a dramatic effect all by itself. I'm really impressed with your product. It is ingenious, easy to install, and it works as advertised.


Jim Howard, Kenwood KD500 table and arm:
 
I am now playing the Grado Ref Master on my Kenwood's KD 550 arm that I modified to work with the VTAF. The VTAF transformed the sound of this arm. It was midfi at the very best, but with the VTAF it just continues to amaze me. I am not sure if I could live without VTAF now that I have tasted it! Kinda like chocolate but a whole lot better! Reminds me of Sarah MacLaughlins "Ice Cream!"

 

Dennis Pitzer, Michell Gyrodec Table and Zeta arm: Well, with the patience of Job, you walked me through each step of the installation process (much simpler in reality than perceived). Ultimately I spent more time re-aligning my Lyra Helikon with Wallytractor than I did installing the VTAF! The results are simply stunning! As a High Fi enthusiast for over 25 years, I can honestly state that no single improvement; component upgrade, tweak etc. has gotten me closer to the absolute sound as the VTAF. I am hearing musical passages, inner detail, sound stage and frequency range extension that I did not dream possible. As I actively listen to my record collection, I find my jaw dropping in amazement and sheer pleasure. Thanks very much for engineering such a fine product, selling it at a fair price, and supporting your customers in a "world class manner"!


Jeff Horiguchi, Nottingham Hyperspace Table and Mentor Arm:
I set it all up over the weekend and it is a thing of beauty. The VTAF works as you described and is a joy to use. It really could not have been any easier to use, install and to order. I would not hesitate to recommend to someone else.


Jim Howard, Audio Asylum DIY, Kenwood KD-500 table and arm:
With my new VTAF a simple adjustment up or down just snaps the sound in place. My initial impression was "wow the bass is clear, tight, and perfectly extended."
The VTAF nails the bass perfectly, and the midbass now has flesh. You can hear the skin of the fingertips slip past the bass strings. I've never heard this before on recordings.
Regarding the human voice, I am still in disbelief. I can hear a human head singing to me from center stage, not a voice coming from between the speakers but the actual head. Folks it is pure fun to hear the singer right there in your room, mouthing the vocals of your favorite songs. Sara MacLaughlin modulates her notes by changing the shape of her mouth. She twists her jaw as she sings and you can see her doing it in your sound field.
In the the upper midrange I hear the drummer pressing the brushes into his cymbals. I hear his sticks being swirled on the drum heads instead of being struck against them. I hear percussion as you expect to hear it, with pace and rhythm, and emotion. Listen to some well recorded drum music with the VTAF and you will hear new magic you never heard before. The VTAF so improved my high frequency sound that I was transfixed. Never have I heard vinyl get a cymbal, a triangle, or a transient so accurately.
Today I get to listen to every record as if for the very first time. The VTAF lets you dial the sound perfectly every single time, allowing you to make a thick sounding album sound more dry, or a dry record sound more full.
Some of my more marginal recordings of great music, though still flawed, are more listenable with the VTAF.
VTAF allows you to adjust the sound so voices are perfect. Everything sounds better when you nail the VTA and you can do it in seconds. It is amazing that 1 to 3 degrees up or down affects the music as it does, but your ears will not deceive you. VTAF is the answer to getting more smiles out of every moment you listen to Vinyl.
So in summary, you owe it to yourself to try the VTAF. It has made the most impressive change to my vinyl listening experience. I hope you will be brave enough to experience the VTAF for yourself.


David Sloane, Audio Asylum Review, 6/9/05, Origin Live Encounter Arm on O.L. Aurora Gold table:
 
Let me say that it is truly a work of art
(I love industrial art of ANY kind) and it is installed in the Aurora Gold/Encounter arm and it is probably one of the most incredibly elegant and beautiful inventions I've ever seen. It performs incredibly well, and I think it's the best couple-hundred bucks I've spent in this hobby. The fact that it is such a simple and direct solution to what was truly the only "beef" I had with the whole turntable subsystem, to me reflects true genius. I took pictures along the way, and there are one or two special points that need to be addressed when installing on an Aurora Gold. Check out David Sloane's web site documenting his installation of the VTAF on the OL Encounter and Aurora Gold: www.sloanezone.com/vtaf/vtaf.html


Joseph P Horvath II, Audio Asylum Vinyl, (jphii) 6/26/04, Teres turntable:
 
"Installation is extremely easy. If you can change a tone arm, you can install the VTAF. Going in, I had a couple of reservations . . . the arm just sits there. No nut to tighten at all . . . I was skeptical . . . the guide is the only thing that holds the tone arm in place (keeps the tone arm pedestal from rotating) . . . that had me a little worried too. So I put on an album I know inside out . . . the VTAF seemed to bring out a new level of detail I had been missing . . . it just seemed more 'right.' So I put on another album I know well . . . Same thing. New levels of detail, previously unheard. And the fun thing is, now I can change VTA on the fly! Seriously, I changed it on the fly, and not one skip, period. And my TT sits on a rack that is , lets see, 'structurally challenged.' If you have a Rega based arm, this will be the best hundred bucks you ever spent."


Bill Allen (BAULS Audio), BIX turntable:
 
"I have the VTAF in play. Very cool I must say. Slick even. The strange thing is that the VTA on the fly is secondary to the improvement in the soundstage. Even my wife is playing vinyl albums again, a good sign."


Jeff Kane, Clearaudio Evolution Turntable: 
"I put off installing the VTAF for the longest time... Was afraid to trash my P25 etc etc etc. Well, I just got a Clearaudio Evolution and got REALLY tired of doing the 'ol up and down with the VTA adjustors it had on it so the Dremel and I got busy. Funny that I wouldn't touch the P25 but I dove right in on the Clearaudio. As for the sonics... Well just the ability to adjust VTA on the fly is a HUGE boon but for what ever reason (decoupling the arm from the plinth maybe?) the noise level has dropped and the imaging is quite a bit more focused and defined now . . . I definitely heard an improvement with the VTAF . . . LOVE it! P.S. The setup looks PERFECT on the Clearaudio as it matches their hardware100%... It looks like something they would've done. VERY nice. Will be placing an order for a VTAF for the P25."


Mike Price, VPI HW-19 Mk. IV turntable:
 
"Couldn't be much easier. My platter mat was thick enough so that I didn't have to do any shimming. This thing works great and sounds even better!!



Barry Howard, VPI HW-19: 
"The installation instructions were foolproof and after the 45 minutes that it took to remove my Expressimo Audio VTA and install yours (mostly sanding the hole in my Corian armboard and adjusting height so that the cartridge body was parallel with the record) I was playing music. I decided to test the VTAF with a new 180 gram pressing of Cat Steven's Tea For The Tillerman . . . my initial test disc as I have upgraded my VPI HW-19. Five seconds into "But I Might Die Tonight" I'm sure that my mouth was hanging open. Every aspect of the presentation had improved beginning with the bass that was better defined with more kick and there even seemed to be more quantity. There was more detail revealed at all frequencies. The mids and highs were more natural and the soundstage became wider and taller - just plain bigger with greater transparency. Amazingly there was not a compromise for all of this improvement . . . The improvement to my HW19 was greater than adding the SAMA ($400 stand alone motor assembly) and on par with adding the Scout platter and inverted bearing ($300)! All of this has been accomplished without even adjusting the VTA. I will look forward to playing with the height adjustment over time. Thanks again for a well engineered product.


Brad Ellis, heavily modified AR XA-1:
 
It is just as you promised - more detail, tighter bass, better sound-stage, easy to install and use and gorgeous to look at! Thank you so much for another brilliant DIYer's dream item. The VTAF has just brought me closer to my ideal sound than I have ever been before. After 20 plus years, I think I am finally hearing what I have been searching for. I hope I have conveyed that I am thrilled with the VTAF.


Leonard Cue, Luxman version of the Rega P3 turntable:
 
"Well thought out and comprehensive instructions made installation a breeze. The precison cartridge shims supplied allowed the VTA adjustment range to be set just right. The arm being practically free of the deck has improved clarity, giving the perception of improved timing and space. The VTAF moves the Shure V15xMR cartridge from sounding like a good technological trick, to the production of actual music."


Ken Perkins, Audio Asylum, VPI jr. table with an Origin Live RB250 arm:
 
I've just installed the VTAF on a VPI jr. with an Origin Live 250 and have come to the conclusion that it's one of the best tweaks or mods I've ever done to a turntable/arm. Regardless of the VTA adjustment (it's basically set where it was), I'm convinced the actual mount has contributed to my sound the most. It's more open, there's more air with a blacker background, and dynamics and "pace" are outstanding. The depth of the image is hard to believe and I'm using 30 year old modified Large Advents!


Brian Sloan: 
Another convert here in New Zealand. Great kit. Appreciated that you even included the plastic pipe sanding forms for enlarging the mounting hole. I was surprised at how stable the tone arm feels after installation. That stability seems to transfer directly into the music. The soundstage became more focused and palpable. I was also surprised that I ended up adjusting the tone arm a lot higher than previous calculations had suggested. You can't argue with your ears as the final judge! I've saved the best for last . . . you gave me my vinyl "Kind of Blue" back! Previously unlistenable. That alone was worth the price of this kit.


Richard Golladay, Origin Live Silver on Spacedeck:
 
Does the VTAF work? Yep! Does it play my records better? Yep! At this point I'm not sure whether the improvement in sound is attributable to the fact that the arm is not rigidly mounted. I will say that the ability to get VTA right for every record will improve its sound, most particularly when using a fine cartridge. I have more dollars in my Clearaudio cartridge than I have in the Table, arm, mods, and VTAF put together. I have found so far that the the sound stage is wider, images more precise, with improved delineation of instruments in space. Please feel free to use me as a reference. This is a good product, and worth the cost.

Bill Wilborn, custom Sonus Formula IV on custom turntable:
've succesfully installed the VTAF. I can confirm that it sounds very good and that I can readily change VTA without skipping a groove. Thanks a lot.


Khoa Dang:
 
"Comparing to the usual simple and flimsy VTA adjusters currently on the market, your VTAF should command another $50 to $100 easily."


Bill Van Winkle, Master Piano Rebuilder, Thorens TD125 turntable, Expressimo modified Rega RB250 arm:
 
"The ability to change VTA on the fly brings life to many records. In addition there is an unmistakable improvement to the sound, at any VTA."


Dake Ackley, OL Modified RB250, Denon DL103 Cartridge, Thorens 520 Table:
 
Hi Pete- I recently installed your VTAF on my turntable and I wanted to give you some feedback. I think this is a really excellent product. I installed it on a Thorens 520, a relatively uncommon turntable. The 520 has a separate armboard that I drilled according to your instructions. The tonearm is a OL-modified RB 250 and the cart is a Denon 103. This is my back-up table - it's been sitting around unused for a few months. My main table is a LP12/Cirkus/Ittok/Lingo (currently in the shop).Your instructions are excellent. I really appreciated the care put into the instructions, especially the specifications you provide for this specific tonearm. Very helpful. I have never been able to set VTA as easily as I can with the VTAF. The 520 has a leaf-spring suspension, and so I'm not able to set it 'on the fly' - it causes the needle to jump the groove - but I'm still able to set it very easily. The stylus certainly tracks well, and the fact that the tonearm is relatively 'loose' in the bushing doesn't seem to have caused any problems: imaging is very stable, very precise. Like I said, I think this is a really great product, with great instructions, and excellent build quality. Anyway, just wanted to give you my thoughts on this fine product. Many thanks.


James Osborne, Rega RB250:
Hi Pete, The VTAF has lived up to all my expectations. By far one of best upgrades I've done to my sound system ! Thanks for your great support along the way ! Best of luck. James


Alan Butt, Garrard 401, Martin Bastin Plinth, Rega arm:
 
Hi Peter, just a line to say "thanks'' for a great product - your VTA adjuster rocks - see pictures - I purchased the adjuster several years ago - for a Garrard 401 project - the waiting was well worth it. The turntable now sits firmly in its new Martin Bastin designed and built plinth with your VTA making adjustments a simple task - brilliant.

VTAF TEFLON UPGRADE TESTIMONIALS


Mark Williams, VPI HW-19 MK IV with RB300 and Dynavector 20X:

The VTAF Teflon Upgrade installation was a breeze. The keys are to take your time and keep the Xacto blade as clean as possible, using the alcohol wipes provided. Also, be sure to handle the Xacto blade carefully! The complete install only took me about 20 minutes. My VTAF now adjusts more smoothly with the upgrade and I do think that the sound from my VPI HW-19 MK IV with RB300 and Dynavector 20X has taken another leap forward.

CCM (Counterweight for the Common Man) Testimonials


Szymon Gajda, RB300 tonearm on Nottingham AceSpace table:
Hi Pete:  The CCM turned out to be a major league improvement for the Rega RB300.  The CCM eliminates the one-note-bass problem inherent in the stock RB300.  Looking forward to incorporating the VTAF into my vinyl rig.


Michael Levine, Rega arm on Linn LP12:
 
Hi Pete, finally got my thing together and installed the VTAF on my LP12. It turned out great and is sounding excellent. Together with the CCM counterweight (installed earlier, replacing the Kerry f2) the VTAF has made a significant upgrade in the sound of my vinyl. Thanks very much!


James Chee T. Loh, Rega RB300:
 
The Counterweight for the Common man is excellent, working well. Sounds great on my RB300 arm.


Bernie Candy, Rega RB300:
 
Just to let you know that having had your counterweight for a week or so, how impressed I am!! The humble P3 with an acrylic platter fitted, your CCM counter weight and The P6 Tonearm lead now sounds amazing! The CCM modification puts this arm/table combo into a different league altogether!! With your modification I suspect I would have to pay a small fortune to better the sound.


Greg Owen, Rega RB250:
  
I love my CCM structural modification. It has really improved my Rega RB250.


Willie Chu:
 
The CCM is quite beautiful to look at. It sounds better than my previous upgrade counterweight, which is the Expressimo Heavyweight. I think the improvement is due to the better arm stub provided with the CCM.


Gerard Paquet:
  
Pete is a superb seller - friendly, helpful. CCM is as described. Fast shipping. Completely satisfied. Highly recommended!


Jerome Tomko, Rega RB300:
 
The CCM works well. I have it on my Rega RB300 on a vintage Thorens TD-160 turntable. I am surprised by how good it sounds.



Laura Pfefferkorn, Rega RB300:
 
My listening tests show the CCM counterweight system to be superior to my stock Rega RB300 counterweight system. The sound is more focused, and clear. The guitar strums are awesome. Clearly a winner.

I want to thank you for a very fine product. Fit and finish are excellent. The instructions were very easy to follow, however I deviated slightly from them using the tip of a dull #2 pencil to install the insert. The tapered end fit perfectly and was easy to extract. I have been listening now for a week and can say that results were immediate and pronounced. The sound floor has decreased noticeably. Most of the run-in sections are now "almost" inaudible. Any sibilance and harshness present in the vocals are now gone. Bell sounds from the centers of cymbals are clear along with the "live shimmer". There are other improvements but the above are so dramatic I will stop here. Again I thank you for a Common Man approach to an UN-common product.


Chris Ringwood, RB300:
 
I re-wired my Rega RB300. Definite improvement. Then I installed your weight and stub. WOW! An order of magnitude improvement exceeding the rewire. The enhanced clarity, separation of instruments and better balance in the frequency ranges whilst retaining excellent musicality, all added up to my being VERY pleased indeed with the modification. An order of magnitude improvement for $75 is audio-value indeed!


Chris Bates, Rega RB250 on Project Genie Turntable:
 
CCM arrived in good condition and is fitted to Rega RB250 on a modified Project Genie turntable (outrigger arm plate). Overall impression is of a veil lifted from the music, cleaner note extremities and deeper more defined bass. Just been listening to an old Philips LP of Alred Brendal  playing Liszt piano sonata - simply awesome piano depth with a modest Ortofon 2M red. Best value upgrade I have purchased for a very long time. Its a true breath of fresh air to buy something that does what is claimed! Keep up the good work.
Chris Bates , England


Joe Giacalone, RB300 Tonearm on highly Modified Rega RP3 Table: I would have written sooner but my free time is now consumed with listening to vinyl. Although I expected some improvement with the VTAF and CCM modifications neither I, nor my wife, expected the magnitude of sound upgrade the two mods brought. I always thought the phrase "jaw-dropping" was simply a metaphor but that is what happens with every record I play; literally. I simply cannot recommend your products highly enough now that I finally understand through first-hand experience why vinyl is vastly superior to even a very high end CD player. Also, with your diagnostic suggestions I discovered why I was getting only a signal from the left and not right channel. It turned out to be a blown tube in the phono section of my McIntosh C2220 preamp. Thanks for your help because as good as I told you the mods were that was with my hearing them through a weak phono tube. With both phono channels on good tubes now the music is simply amazing with precise imaging, a very deep soundstage and more powerful and tighter bass and a richness that I've missed in the 45 years I've been in this hobby.
 
 

RoguesGallery/Pete.Riggle.String.Theory.jpg
Positive Feedback Online Award for Woody tonearm using VTAF
RoguesGallery/Jeff.Award.jpg
Jeff Award by reviewer Jeff Day for Woody SPU tonearm using VTAF

"I've saved the best for last . . .
you gave me my vinyl "Kind of Blue" back!
Previously unlistenable.
That alone was worth the price of this kit."

Brian Sloan, NZ